Cycling Through Pregnancy Part III: I Bet This Has Never Happened to You; By Ellie Carter

Be sure to check out the first two installments of Ellie riding through pregnancy Part I and Part II.

Well, here it is the final chapter in my story trilogy, and I wouldn’t have it any other way:

Minding my own business, riding my “3rd trimester cruiser” (my specially crafted steed to ride during the latter third of pregnancy) home from work on a Thursday afternoon something very unexpected occurred. It was something I’d never experienced yet it was unmistakable. I was 99.99% sure I hadn’t peed my pants. What else do you think it could have been? Yep, my water broke…on my bike! I was taken by surprise not only because of the sheer coincidence of the whole event but because it happened 3.5 weeks before my due date. So, I called up my hubby to tell him what was going on – in hindsight, I should have stopped riding at that point.

Me: “Um, I’m riding home and my water just broke.”

Hubs: “Whaaaat?! Where are you? Want me to come pick you up?!”

Me: “Just a few blocks from work. Nah, I feel fine, just wet. I can make it home just fine.” (We only live about 3 miles from my work).

Hubs: “Are you sure?!…”

The rest of the conversation is kind of a blur and I kept on without a problem but in total shock. I arrived home to find him in the garage installing the baby car seat – one of the many things on our to-do list we had not yet accomplished.

My doctor instructed us over the phone to head to the hospital and when we arrived, the labor and delivery staff already knew about my unique situation. “So, your water broke on your bike?!” we heard from a few nurses. Yet, another special aspect of the whole scenario: our son was born on 11/11/11 (about 1.5 hours past the 11:11 AM mark).

He’s gorgeous, perfectly healthy and an immense amount of joy packaged up in such a little person. Some day, we hope he’ll be as avid a cyclist as we are. But much like the hopes of all parents we realize only some will come to fruition. Until then, he’ll be carted around in a Burley trailer, trained to ride on a pedal-free glider, and hopefully enjoy many hours in our home bike shop.

This entry was posted in Profile, Twin Cities Cyclist and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cycling Through Pregnancy Part III: I Bet This Has Never Happened to You; By Ellie Carter

  1. Jana Velo says:

    Ohhh, he’s beautiful! What a great story! From what I hear, biking to the hospital can be a lot more comfy than riding in a car. Just out of curiosity, where did you deliver?

Leave a Reply

