Introducing a New CTC Contributor: Nicole

Today we introduce another of the new faces wandering around the CTC headquarters: Nicole. Nicole is a great addition to the team, and we are looking forward to adding a female voice to our group. Like usual we will let Nicole introduce herself:

_______________________

Like so many, I had a bicycle growing up and its purpose was specifically for having fun.  Riding a bike still hasn’t lost the fun factor, but the purpose has expanded to include transportation, racing/exercise, relaxation and freedom. It wasn’t until I acquired my first ‘real’ bike (Trek 4300) that I started on the path to enlightenment.

I originally bought the bike to start mountain biking but it quickly became apparent to me that it provided me with a great way to get around town. I did navigate the rooty trails of the East Coast but I also started commuting to work (forever in debt to a former boss that suggested it to me) and trying out some long distance exploration (sometimes by accident).

Moving to the Twin Cities has dramatically increased my cycling participation, not only because it is often the most convenient transportation choice, but also because there are just so many fun and interesting events to do that involve bicycles.  I have access to a variety of options from trails (dirt or paved), to the velodrome, to races or alleycats, art shows, group rides (for leisure or for suffering), book clubs, and a plethora of volunteer opportunities.

I am interested in trying to cross-pollinate among the different cycling factions in order to create dialogue that usually does not occur in the same space, highlighting the diversity of choices that we have available to us.  I’d like to pay particular attention to the recent increase of WTF (women/trans/femme) events and how these are creating safer spaces in the cycling scene.

Currently, I serve on the Board of Directors of the Bicycle Alliance of Minnesota, focusing on advocacy and education efforts state-wide.  In 2008, I became a Licensed Cycling Instructor (LCI) to help people feel more comfortable biking in traffic.  I encourage anyone interested in a course or training to contact BikeMN for help organizing.  I will also be helping out with the Wednesday night Freewheel Women’s Ride from Midtown, hopefully launching May 11th.

Keep the rubber side down!

_____________________________________________________________

Thanks Nicole, and welcome!

This entry was posted in Profile, Twin Cities Cyclist and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Introducing a New CTC Contributor: Nicole

  1. Lowrah says:

    Awesome. You are certainly obtaining a superstar team!

Leave a Reply

